## San Diego New Music: Noise Spectra

November 15, 2016 – 8:00 p.m. Conrad Prebys Music Center Experimental Theater

hyperoxic (2011)

Malin Bång (b. 1974)

Rachel Beetz, bass flute Dustin Donahue, percussion

*No Stone Unturned* (2016) (world premiere)

Garth Paine (b. 1962)

Rachel Beetz, flute Batya MacAdam-Somer, violin Mark Menzies, viola

Alex Greenbaum, cello Scott Worthington, double bass Eric Starr, trombone

Simone Mancuso, conductor

*Stèle* (1995)

Gérard Grisey (1946-1998)

Dustin Donahue & Ryan Nestor, percussion

Ethers (1978)

Tristan Murail (b. 1947)

Rachel Beetz, flutes

Batya MacAdam-Somer, violin Mark Menzies, viola Alex Greenbaum, cello

Scott Worthington, double bass Eric Starr, trombone Johannes Regnier, sound

Simone Mancuso, conductor

This concert is co-presented by Rachel Beetz, UC San Diego, San Diego New Music, Arizona Contemporary Music Ensemble, and Prisms Contemporary Music Festival at Arizona State University. Special Thanks to Johannes Regnier and to Daniel Ross. San Diego New Music is a 501(c)(3) dedicated to the public performance of notated music of the highest integrity and artistic caliber from the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. We seek to advance the art form by promoting music composed with conceptual rigor, passionate energy, and singular artistic vision. We present an annual Affiliated Artist Concert Series, the annual soundON Festival of Modern Music, Music Mondays with San Diego Refugee Tutoring, and additional performances in the community.

THANK YOU to those who have already supported us this year:

BENEFACTOR: \$2500 and up

**UNDERWRITER:** \$1500-\$2499

Julia S. Falk, Ph.D.

FRIENDS of soundON: \$1,000-\$1,499

Karen Fox Garna Muller

Eric Starr and Sarah Skuster

Ellen Browning Scripps Foundation and the Athenaeum Music & Arts Library

## FRIENDS of NEW MUSIC: \$500-\$999

Aaron and Naomi Alter
Christian Hertzog and Susan Dorin
George and Peggy Johnston
Catherine and Bob Palmer
Ethna Piazza
Erika and Fred Torri
Society of St. Paul

## **CONNOISSEUR CIRCLE:** \$100-\$499

Pamela and Gordon Adler Claudia Baranowski Jory and Selina Herman Rodney Peffer Carol Plantamura & Felix Prael Mark and Jane Skuster Robert and Joan Zelickman

ARTIST CIRCLE: up to \$99
Rachel Beetz and Dustin Donahue
Luke Thibodo and Rachel Allen

Contributions by check should be made out to "San Diego New Music" and sent to, San Diego New Music

PMB 316

9500 Gilman Drive

La Jolla, CA 92093-5010

## www.sandiegonewmusic.com

Madelyn Byrne, President | Eric Starr, Executive Director | Lisa Cella, Artistic Director of the soundON Festival Christopher Adler, secretary/treasurer | Bonnie Lander, Education and Outreach Director Rachel Beetz, Director of Public Relations | Rachel Allen, Production Manager Christian Hertzog, board member | Michael Oyster, board member and recordist