UC San Diego's Department of Music

June 04, 2018

  The University of California San Diego Department of Music is proud to announce the Undergraduate Student award recipients for academic achievement and service during the 2017 - 2018 academic year.

Undergraduate Student Prizes and Awards, 2018

The Cheatham Prize - MARTIN CHAPMAN
In honor of the late James "Jimmy" Cheatham, in recognition for his many dedicated years directing the jazz program and jazz ensembles at UC San Diego, the faculty established the Cheatham Prize in 2004. Each year, the music faculty and the undergraduate committee selects the most outstanding undergraduate music major pursuing the jazz concentration. Criteria for the award includes excellence in musicianship (including the disciplines of performance, theory, or composition), success in academic studies, and department service.

The late conductor Thomas Nee, who officially retired in June 1991 from full-time teaching responsibilities, was the conductor of the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus for 31 years, from 1967 to 1998. The orchestra is comprised of campus and community musicians, and under Professor Nee's past leadership it consistently programmed new works along with traditional repertoire. In honor of Professor Nee, the Nee Prize is awarded each year in the spring quarter to the student, graduate or undergraduate, who makes the most outstanding contribution to the orchestra's season. The recipient is chosen by Professor Steven Schick, conductor of the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus. The 2017 Nee Prize recipient is: CHIAKI WATANABE.

The Erickson Prize - AMIR MOHEIMANI
The late Professor Robert Erickson was fascinated by musical timbre. His research led him to travels in Bali and a career of experimentation and composition with new sound sources. We honor his vision with The Erickson Prize for excellence in research.

The Farrell Prize - JONATHAN YERGLER
The faculty established the Farrell Prize in honor of cellist Peter Farrell who retired in June 1991 after many years of dedicated teaching undergraduate music theory. The music faculty and undergraduate committee selects the most outstanding undergraduate Music Major to graduate each year. Although awarded at the end of spring quarter, students graduating at the end of fall and winter quarters may also be candidates. Excellence in musicianship, scholarship and department service will be the criteria for the award.

The Dr. Milton H. Saier, Sr. Memorial Award - AMIR MOHEIMANI
The Dr. Milton H. Saier, Sr. Memorial Awards Fund was established at UC San Diego in 1998 to support an annual awards program for the Departments of Music, Theatre and Dance, Literature, and Biology. Each year, the Department of Music is given funds by the Saier family for an award to acknowledge "outstanding classical music performance by an undergraduate student."

The Stewart Prize - CJ CONG
Muir College Provost Emeritus John Stewart created this award to recognize creative works by undergraduate students in Fine Arts departments. Music majors may submit scores, give performances, deliver papers, or choose other projects for participation in the Spring Celebration of the Arts each Spring quarter.

The Bertram Turetzky Award - JONATHAN YERGLER
Established in 2004 in honor of Professor Emeritus and bassist Bertram Turetzky, the Turetzky Award recognizes the exceptional departmental, campus-wide and community musical participation and outreach by an outstanding undergraduate performer.

The Jazz Society Award - ALEC HAMILTON
The Jazz Society of Lower Southern California, with the assistance of Provost Emeritus John Stewart, has established an endowment which provides two prizes each spring quarter to the graduate student and the undergraduate student who have made the most outstanding contributions to the UC San Diego Jazz Ensemble in the past year. The winner is chosen by Professor Mark Dresser, in consultation with the Jazz Society Board.

ICAM-Music Award -

This award is given to a graduating senior in recognition of achievement in both technical and artistic mastery of the foundations of music and digital media. It is emblematic of accomplishment during a distinguished undergraduate career and, more importantly, the promise of high achievement yet to come. ICAM award winners look beyond the surfaces and learn the underlying aesthetic and scientific principles that will allow them the reinvention of themselves as their careers blossom in a field of endeavor which itself is constantly evolving. ICAM award winners are those who realize that ideas drive technology and the arts, and not the other way around. This award is given with best wishes for a career of meaning and fulfillment in all professional and personal endeavors.

Student Ambassadors 2017-2018 - Certificate of Appreciation
Students who helped with outreach events in speaking with prospective Music and ICAM Majors at Triton Day, Transfer Triton Day, CSE Pathways etc.

  << View Current News    Show detail for all Current News    View Archived News >>

Please Note: The Department of Music does not take responsibility for the content of external websites, Facebook pages, and other outside UCSD.

Share this News Item Add to Facebook