UC San Diego's Department of Music

June 04, 2018

  The University of California San Diego Department of Music is proud to announce the Graduate Student award recipients for academic achievement and service during the 2017-2018 academic year.

Graduate Student Prizes and Awards, 2018

The Jazz Society Award:

The Jazz Society of Lower Southern California, with the assistance of Provost Emeritus John Stewart, has established an endowment which provides two prizes each spring quarter to the graduate student and the undergraduate student who have made the most outstanding contributions to the UC San Diego Jazz Ensemble in the past year. The winner is chosen by Professor Mark Dresser, in consultation with the Jazz Society Board. The 2018 Jazz Society Award recipients are PhD candidate in Integrative Studies: JOSHUA CHARNEY, and PhD student in Computer Music NAKUL TIRUVILUAMALA.

The Erickson Prize: MICHAEL MATSUNO
The late Professor Robert Erickson was fascinated by musical timbre. His research led him to travels in Bali and a career of experimentation and composition with new sound sources. We honor his vision with The Erickson Prize for excellence in research. The 2018 Erickson Prize recipient is DMA candidate in performance, flutist MICHAEL MATSUNO.

Carolyn Applebaum Endowed Prize:

The Carolyn Applebaum Endowed Prize (established in 2017) is made possible by a donation from composer Mark Applebaum (MA '92, PhD '96) and his wife Joan Friedman in memory of Mark's sister. The prize is an annual monetary award that recognizes students who, through an adopted sense of enterprise and responsibility, endeavor to make the campus music community robust and engaging for their classmates. Graduate Music students beyond their first year, as well as undergraduate sophomore, junior, and senior Music majors and Music minors are eligible. The award celebrates students who have made a meaningful impact on the arts in student life and is independent of personal scholarly success or creative distinction. Tremendous creative capacity and artistic agency are not requirements, but making the campus an environment for increased creative capacity and artistic agency are. The prize is not an award for personal achievement in music. It is an award for improving the campus environment in which music is made and experienced. The prize aspires to consider the broadest range of musical life. This includes music-making both within and beyond the University's Music curriculum. It includes interests of the faculty and those beyond. It includes artistic performance and invention, but it may also include musical scholarship, analysis, theory, and appreciation, both within and beyond the activities of the Department of Music. An award need only be given in a year for which there is an appropriate candidate. In exceptional circumstances, multiple awards may be given in a single year if multiple students are appropriately distinguished.

The Applebaum Prize recipients are PhD candidate, composer FERNANDA AOKI NAVARRO and recent DMA alumnus, cellist JUDITH HAMANN.

Teaching Assistant (TA) Excellence Award:

First-Year TA Excellence Award:

  << View Current News    Show detail for all Current News    View Archived News >>

Please Note: The Department of Music does not take responsibility for the content of external websites, Facebook pages, and other outside UCSD.

Share this News Item Add to Facebook