UC San Diego's Department of Music

August 17, 2016

  Composer Celeste Oram and flutist Ine Vanoeveren won prestigious awards last week at the International Summer Course in Darmstadt, Germany, a prominent new music festival. Oram (pictured) of the Ph.D. program was awarded the 3000-Euro Kranichsteiner Musikpreise, while Vanoeveren, who recently completed a DMA dissertation on the music of Brian Ferneyhough, received a Kranichsteiner Stipendienpreise with a fellowship for 2018. At Darmstadt, she performed all of Ferneyhough's compositions for solo flute.

UC San Diego music faculty, alumni and students have played a prominent part at Darmstadt for decades, alongside the world's best-known practitioners of new music. This year's contingent was led by Pulitzer-winning composer Roger Reynolds, an invited composer. Reynolds gave private lessons and four lectures. He performed his PASSAGE 11 in a special Darmstadt version that featured his longtime collaborator, violinist Irvine Arditti, with the Arditti Quartet and music alumnus and computer musician Paul Hembree. Reynolds also presented a workshop/performance of "Shifting/Drifting," his more recent collaboration with the quartet and Hembree.

Others from UC San Diego who participated at Darmstadt were composer Fernanda Navarro, whose work confronts gender issues, and composer James Bean, whose music evokes nonverbal, untranslatable experiences. Bean earned a master's at UC San Diego and is now a Ph.D. student at Harvard.

Click here to read Max Erwin's blog about the importance of UC San Diego in the new music scene. Erwin refers to UC San Diego as a "citadel for some of the most exciting and radical experimentation in the United States, being done by a diverse student body from every continent."

[more info >>]

  << View Archived News    Show detail for all Archived News    View Current News >>

Please Note: The Department of Music does not take responsibility for the content of external websites, Facebook pages, and other outside UCSD.

Share this News Item Add to Facebook