UC San Diego's Department of Music

June 07, 2017

  The University of California San Diego Department of Music is proud to announce the Graduate Student award recipients for academic achievement and service during the 2016-2017 academic year.

Graduate Student Prizes and Awards, 2017

The late conductor Thomas Nee, who officially retired in June 1991 from full-time teaching responsibilities, was the conductor of the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus for 31 years, from 1967 to 1998. The orchestra is comprised of campus and community musicians, and under Professor Nee's past leadership it consistently programmed new works along with traditional repertoire. In honor of Professor Nee, the Nee Prize is awarded each year in the spring quarter to the student, graduate or undergraduate, who makes the most outstanding contribution to the orchestra's season. The recipient is chosen by Professor Steven Schick, conductor of the La Jolla Symphony and Chorus. The 2017 Nee Prize recipient is DMA student in flute performance: MICHAEL MATSUNO.

The Jazz Society Award - TOMMY BABIN
The Jazz Society of Lower Southern California, with the assistance of Provost Emeritus John Stewart, has established an endowment which provides two prizes each spring quarter to the graduate student and the undergraduate student who have made the most outstanding contributions to the UC San Diego Jazz Ensemble in the past year. The winner is chosen by Professor Mark Dresser, in consultation with the Jazz Society Board. The 2017 Jazz Society Award recipient is DMA candidate, bassist TOMMY BABIN.

The Erickson Prize - JOE CANTRELL
The late Professor Robert Erickson was fascinated by musical timbre. His research led him to travels in Bali and a career of experimentation and composition with new sound sources. We honor his vision with The Erickson Prize for excellence in research. The 2017 Erickson Prize recipient is Integrative Studies PhD candidate: JOE CANTRELL.

Carolyn Applebaum Endowed Prize, established Spring 2017
The Carolyn Applebaum Endowed Prize is made possible by a donation from composer Mark Applebaum (MA '92, PhD '96) and his wife Joan Friedman in memory of Mark's sister. The prize is an annual monetary award that recognizes students who, through an adopted sense of enterprise and responsibility, endeavor to make the campus music community robust and engaging for their classmates. Graduate Music students beyond their first year, as well as undergraduate sophomore, junior, and senior Music majors and Music minors are eligible. The award celebrates students who have made a meaningful impact on the arts in student life and is independent of personal scholarly success or creative distinction. Tremendous creative capacity and artistic agency are not requirements, but making the campus an environment for increased creative capacity and artistic agency are. The prize is not an award for personal achievement in music. It is an award for improving the campus environment in which music is made and experienced. The prize aspires to consider the broadest range of musical life. This includes music-making both within and beyond the University's Music curriculum. It includes interests of the faculty and those beyond. It includes artistic performance and invention, but it may also include musical scholarship, analysis, theory, and appreciation, both within and beyond the activities of the Department of Music. An award need only be given in a year for which there is an appropriate candidate. In exceptional circumstances, multiple awards may be given in a single year if multiple students are appropriately distinguished.

The inaugural Applebaum Prize winner is composer, sound artist and PhD candidate: CAROLINE LOUISE MILLER.

Teaching Assistant (TA) Excellence Awards

First-Year TA Excellence Award

Pictured: Caroline Louise Miller
Photo by: Lyndsay Bloom

[more info >>]

  << View Current News    Show detail for all Current News    View Archived News >>

Please Note: The Department of Music does not take responsibility for the content of external websites, Facebook pages, and other outside UCSD.

Share this News Item Add to Facebook